Below:  Presentation of the 2017 Thrower Award
L-R:  Senior Judge Loren Smith, Jeffrey Chiow, Edward Passarelli

The 2017 Randolph W. Thrower Award, which is presented annually by the Court of Federal Claims Bar Association to an individual who provided “exceptional service to the Bar,” was awarded on December 7, 2017 to Jeffrey Chiow, a shareholder at the law firm of Rogers, Joseph and O’Donnell, PC.  Jeff was recognized for his many contributions to the Bar Association including his outstanding and tireless service as Editor of the recently released Sixth Edition of the Deskbook for Practitioners.

The award is named for the first president of the Bar Association, Randolph Thrower, who passed away in 2014 at the age of 100.  A fascinating read on his storied legal career can be found here, and includes an account of Thrower’s resignation as Commissioner of the Internal Revenue Service during the Nixon Administration in 1971, years before Thrower became our first Bar Association president in 1987.

Past recipients of the award are:

2002: James Kinsella and Nancie G. Marzulla

2003: F. Brook Voght (presented posthumously) and Marc A. Smith

2004: Lewis S. Wiener

2005: Mildred L. Seidman

2006: Carole Bailey

2007: James E. Brookshire and Steven C. Lambert

2009:  Brett Stohs and Dan Buchner

2016:  Don Grove

2017:  Jeffrey Chiow





Below:  Randolph W. Thrower, shown during a Capitol Hill appearance in 1970